Getting a Nexus one on an existing account with AT&T? Stop here first

This is a discussion on Getting a Nexus one on an existing account with AT&T? Stop here first within the AT&T forums, part of the Android Phone Carriers category; Now that Google has released a version capable to run on the AT&T 3G, a lot of people have questions and I will try to ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Getting a Nexus one on an existing account with AT&T? Stop here first

  1. #1
    Member TechieNewsMongral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    45

    Getting a Nexus one on an existing account with AT&T? Stop here first

    Now that Google has released a version capable to run on the AT&T 3G, a lot of people have questions and I will try to cover these common questions in this post.
    The first common question is:
    “Will I be able to trade in my current nexus one for the one that currently works with AT&T’s 3g?”
    The answer is simple but not too pleasant for some. Yes you can. From my research, I’ve found, you need to be within your 14 day buyer’s remorse period to do so (30 days in California). If you are within these days, you will be able to return the phone to HTC and Purchase the version you want.
    Second common question:
    “What do we do if we are past our buyer’s remorse period?”
    I have seen posts and ads all over the place in e-Bay, Amazon and Craigslist selling the Nexus One. I hate to say this, but it seems that this is the only option and many people are taking it to recoup all or some of their funds to be able to purchase a new Nexus One that works on the AT&T 3g network.
    Third common question:
    “What’s the difference in the two current phones that changes the 3g to be used between networks?”
    The answer is found on the referenced link below and I will cover it here as well. It’s the Frequency bands that different carriers use for their 3g coverage.
    “3G coverage on networks that use the 850 MHz, 1900 MHz, and 2100 MHz frequency bands (recommended for use on AT&T in the US and Rogers Wireless in Canada)
    3G coverage on networks that use the 900 MHz, AWS, 1700 and 2100 MHz frequency bands (recommended for use on T-Mobile in the US)”
    For other countries you will want to check with your specific carriers for what bands they use for 3g.
    Fourth common question:
    “What’s the data plan required to work on the Nexus one using AT&T?”
    The answer was mixed for was while, until I did further in-depth research by browsing and calling AT&T and speaking with multiple reps. You will need to have the Smartphone Personal $30.00 data feature to be able to utilize the data that Android requires. From this, I asked about the older $15.00 plan that is used on other Smart phones such as the iPhone, and was given the response that the network would not allow for proper data coverage on the Android software and automatically adds the $30 data feature for you when you place the SIM card into the phone.
    I have seen posts that some people must have a $40.00 data plan. According to the reps I spoke with at AT&T, this is not true and the Nexus One will work fine with the unlimited $30.00 plan they offer.
    And to cover one last growing question I see on the forums in spots.
    “Can we get the phone discounted pricing with AT&T services?”
    Currently the answer is no. Unfortunately, nothing has been announced as of yet regarding any discounts, but this doesn’t mean it won’t change in the future.
    I will update as more information is provided and we can gather more insight.
    hope this helps you to understand a few things



    Currently you will need to purchase the device at full price $529.00 (plus tax where applicable). to purchase goto www.google.com/phone.
    Regards,
    TechieNewsMongral

    tinyurl.com/techienewsmongral

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member FredyG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    147
    Good info here for those just starting! Nice

  4. #3
    Member TechieNewsMongral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    45
    Well I hope it'll be useful along with other posts I make. Some of these I have stickied on the Google forums, so I will pretty much cut n paste my own posts.. . And of course as more information is available I will obtain and proved here as well.
    Regards,
    TechieNewsMongral

    tinyurl.com/techienewsmongral

  5. #4
    Senior Member kevindaledavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by techieNewsMongral View Post
    Fourth common question:
    “What’s the data plan required to work on the Nexus one using AT&T?”
    The answer was mixed for was while, until I did further in-depth research by browsing and calling AT&T and speaking with multiple reps. You will need to have the Smartphone Personal $30.00 data feature to be able to utilize the data that Android requires. From this, I asked about the older $15.00 plan that is used on other Smart phones such as the iPhone, and was given the response that the network would not allow for proper data coverage on the Android software and automatically adds the $30 data feature for you when you place the SIM card into the phone.
    I have seen posts that some people must have a $40.00 data plan. According to the reps I spoke with at AT&T, this is not true and the Nexus One will work fine with the unlimited $30.00 plan they offer.
    Great summary. By the way, you CAN get the $10 unlimited per line data plan for a family plan. You have to also have the unlimited text plan already on the entire (?) group.

    AT&T ne:nexusx:us S on AT&T
    AT&T ne:nexusx:us one on Taiwan Mobile [Missing in Taipei]
    Archos 70 with UrukDroid

  6. #5
    Senior Member VydorScope's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by kevindaledavis View Post
    Great summary. By the way, you CAN get the $10 unlimited per line data plan for a family plan. You have to also have the unlimited text plan already on the entire (?) group.
    I have the family plan, and know of no such $10 plan, do you have a link? I am paying $30/month for that!

  7. #6
    Senior Member kevindaledavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by VydorScope View Post
    I have the family plan, and know of no such $10 plan, do you have a link? I am paying $30/month for that!
    I don't know if these links work since AT&T customizes the links based on a lot of factors. Get Started - Wireless from AT&T

    We have the Nation 1400 FamilyTalk w/Rollover Minutes. Also have the Messaging Unlimited for Families which is $30 (my kids send thousands of text messages per month). So the Family Data Unlimited is only $10 per line for us. If you don't have the Messaging Unlimited for Families, Famly Data Unlimited is $15 per line.

    I know that when I added data about 1.5 years ago, the agent told me the $35 Smartphone unlimited data was the cheapest unlimited data. I see not even the smartphone data is only $30. So things have changed.

    AT&T ne:nexusx:us S on AT&T
    AT&T ne:nexusx:us one on Taiwan Mobile [Missing in Taipei]
    Archos 70 with UrukDroid

  8. #7
    Android Jr Member Backnblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanked
    4 times
    Quote Originally Posted by VydorScope View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by kevindaledavis View Post
    Great summary. By the way, you CAN get the $10 unlimited per line data plan for a family plan. You have to also have the unlimited text plan already on the entire (?) group.
    I have the family plan, and know of no such $10 plan, do you have a link? I am paying $30/month for that!

    It's $10 to add the line to use family minutes....You still have to pay $30 for data.

  9. #8
    Senior Member dixy2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    288
    AT&T still offers the unlimited family data plan for $10/mo (per line) as long as you have the family unlimited txt plan for $30/mo. Otherwise unlimited family data plan cost $15/mo.

    This is the non smartphone data plan. AT&T could impose a $30/mo charge if they "catch" you using this plan on a smartphone.

    please read the fine print on their website for details.

    here's a print screen



  10. #9
    Junior Member Kage_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    8
    The url below is to a thread on Google's support forums. A response from a Google Emp say's that you can block data completely on your account, hence no $30/mth fee, if you want to use your N1 w/ WiFi only.

    I want to disable data transfer (Internet usage) on Nexus One so I only use Wi-Fi @ home etc - Android Help

    I personally do this on my older model iPhone and it works great. WiFi is all over so I don't miss the data access much.

  11. #10
    Junior Member fone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by dixy2k View Post
    This is the non smartphone data plan. AT&T could impose a $30/mo charge if they "catch" you using this plan on a smartphone.
    Not sure how true is this or is this specific only to certain phones? I'm on the $10 data plan for almost 1.5 years now and was using a smartphone bought with subsidy from AT&T and I am still on the $10 plan right now. I have also heard of a friend being charged the $30 data plan for using an unlocked iPhone on AT&T.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. HTC Aria Forum
    By TMODroids User in forum Off-Topic Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2010, 02:14 PM
Android Forum