Switching from Tmo to At&t

This is a discussion on Switching from Tmo to At&t within the AT&T forums, part of the Android Phone Carriers category; I'm thinking about going to AT&T with my Nexus and was wondering if I can just buy the additional line and no data with AT&T ...

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Switching from Tmo to At&t

  1. #1
    Junior Member BillNTacoma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    17

    Switching from Tmo to At&t

    I'm thinking about going to AT&T with my Nexus and was wondering if I can just buy the additional line and no data with AT&T and then use my phone only with WiFi data? Anybody got any ideas on AT&T's policy. Their customer service referred me to a store since they don't know the Nexus One.

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Android Lurker Snickolaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by BillNTacoma View Post
    I'm thinking about going to AT&T with my Nexus and was wondering if I can just buy the additional line and no data with AT&T and then use my phone only with WiFi data? Anybody got any ideas on AT&T's policy. Their customer service referred me to a store since they don't know the Nexus One.
    I'm not 100% on this, but knowing AT&T and their sneaky ways... Once you start using your phone it'll detect it as a smart phone or something and sign you up automatically for a data plan. Because they are nice that way and will do it for you without asking... But then again, I'm just thinking back to when I had the cheaper data plan and they switched me to the "correct" data plan for me. But you don't plan on using the data at all, so since you won't be using the data there's a good chance it'll never know. Until your receive or send a MMS.

  4. #3
    Junior Member Boot412's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2

    No Problem.

    Yeah.. actually if it's a Nexus one with the capabilities of running on T-mobiles 3G service but not on AT&Ts (because they run on completely different) then you shouldn't have to worry about AT&Ts "auto detect" feature. You can use the phone with or without data, and bear in mind that if you do choose data in the future then it'll be at 2G speeds.

    Sources: I own a T-mobile Nexus One running on an unlimited $15 "dumb" phone data plan.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Sheanzy_nexusone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    548
    Switch to Verizon. Baddest android phones on the market.

    I know it doesn't answer your question ....just throwing in some ideas


    --> Ne:nexusx:uS One ROOTED

    --> ...a Gingerbread ROM




    - Our handicapped puppy -

    *Follow me on Twitter



    EASY ROOT + CUSTOM KERNEL FLASHING INSTRUCTIONS ----> HERE

  6. #5
    Junior Member elliotbevan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4
    If I were you I will switch to verizon wireless instead.

  7. #6
    Android Lurker DudeRandom21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    0
    Just wondering what is so great about Verizon I mean I live in Canada so I don`t have any of these choices but what I do know is that he can chose to switch to at&t if he wants maybe they have a plan he likes better itís his choice. But seriously other than there being more phones what is so great about Verizon.

  8. #7
    Senior Member dixy2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    288
    You can have a voice plan only on AT&T no matter what phone you have.

    They will force you buy a data plan only if you get a phone from them.

    I asked them to block all data and text on my line and they did. It's called opt out... (data or text).

    You can still get rollover minutes and A-list (5 favorite contacts free of charge), which can almost amount to unlimited calling if used cleverly (GV).

  9. #8
    Senior Member davidalow44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    125
    You might also get an AT&T prepaid plan. You can buy optional data ($20/100MB/month) and give the whole thing a try before you commit to a monthly plan.

    BTW, T-Mobile also has prepaid, and has an optional ($1.49/unlimited/24 hours) daypass data plan.

    I have SIMs for both, and swap them when appropriate. My total bill is < $20/month.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator UltraDroid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio - the North Coast, Baby!
    Posts
    7,570
    Thanked
    519 times
    Quote Originally Posted by elliotbevan View Post
    If I were you I will switch to verizon wireless instead.
    He can't - AT&T and T-Mobile are GSM systems, using sim cards, while Verizon is a CDMA system, with no sim card. The Nexus that he has will only operate on the GSM carriers systems.

    -Mike
    GSM Galaxy Note 3 (Black) - Straight Stock
    GSM Galaxy Note 2 (Titanium) - Rooted running Jedi X20 Rom
    GSM Galaxy Nexus (Black) - Straight Stock

    GSM Samsung Galaxy S3 (Red) - Rooted running Deadly Venom v8.0.1 Rom


Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Email Notifications
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-25-2010, 10:02 AM

Search tags for this page

at&t.com/switch.tmo

,

switch to tmo and switch back to at&t

,

switchfromtmo.com

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum