Why are you waiting for the Nexus One on Verizon?

This is a discussion on Why are you waiting for the Nexus One on Verizon? within the Verizon forums, part of the Android Phone Carriers category; Originally Posted by jaeisber Well in Chicago, AT&T has horrible service, dropped calls, slow data becuase the network is over saturated with iPhone users...so VZW ...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Why are you waiting for the Nexus One on Verizon?

  1. #11
    Banned CrankyJay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by jaeisber View Post
    Well in Chicago, AT&T has horrible service, dropped calls, slow data becuase the network is over saturated with iPhone users...so VZW is all round better. I have them now, have never dropped a call, data is fast, and service is available everything including where AT&T does not have service.
    I can't help but wonder that VZW's network would be just as crappy if they had a glut of iPhone users.

  2. #12
    Junior Member cronin1024a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by jaeisber View Post
    Yeah, VZW is the better carrier, but as time goes by Im getting more and more tempted to go to AT&T and just get it over with...
    Same here. Verizon coverage would be great, especially since I live in an area without AT&T 3G, but I'm not going to wait forever to get it.

  3. #13
    Senior Member jaeisber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    718
    Quote Originally Posted by CrankyJay View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jaeisber View Post
    Well in Chicago, AT&T has horrible service, dropped calls, slow data becuase the network is over saturated with iPhone users...so VZW is all round better. I have them now, have never dropped a call, data is fast, and service is available everything including where AT&T does not have service.
    I can't help but wonder that VZW's network would be just as crappy if they had a glut of iPhone users.
    Im sure they would be just as bad. That is why I dont want the iPhone to come to VZW. Then all of those people on their parents VZW plan that couldnt switch to AT&T to get the iPhone will get it...then VZW will have the same problems.

    Although, from what I understand, AT&T has done nothing to expand their network to handle the increase in data usage...so I still blame them, ha.
    Bought the AT&T N1.

  4. #14
    Senior Member joker402's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    105
    Verizon is ready to handle the iphone because of the way the hanldle data and voice via seprate channels. Att handles threw the same channel which causes overload.

  5. #15
    Senior Member johnny cizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    561
    Quote Originally Posted by menace View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by richard371 View Post
    2) Sometimes I am on a conf call and need access to data while on the call. Can't do this with CDMA. (voice and data and the same time that is).
    Is this true?

    Also, I thought the GSM devices were still locked to their carriers? (You have to choose compatible with ATT or TMobile)
    this is 100% true. oh and in chicago tmobile works great and can make calls and use the web at the same time
    If I had to name my greatest strength, I guess it would be my humility. Greatest weakness, it's possible that I'm a little too awesome.

  6. #16
    Administrator WERA689's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    2,418
    Thanked
    55 times
    Quote Originally Posted by menace View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by richard371 View Post
    2) Sometimes I am on a conf call and need access to data while on the call. Can't do this with CDMA. (voice and data and the same time that is).
    Is this true?

    Also, I thought the GSM devices were still locked to their carriers? (You have to choose compatible with ATT or TMobile)

    Actually, this is NOT completely true. As many have noted, the TMo version WILL work on AT&T's network; it just won't do so at 3G speeds.
    So, an N1 will work just fine on ANY carrier that your chosen version has the appropriate radio frequencies for. If you're inclined to switch carriers, best to do your homework before choosing which version N1 handset to buy.

  7. #17
    Senior Member johnny cizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    561
    Quote Originally Posted by WERA689 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by menace View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by richard371 View Post
    2) Sometimes I am on a conf call and need access to data while on the call. Can't do this with CDMA. (voice and data and the same time that is).
    Is this true?

    Also, I thought the GSM devices were still locked to their carriers? (You have to choose compatible with ATT or TMobile)

    Actually, this is NOT completely true. As many have noted, the TMo version WILL work on AT&T's network; it just won't do so at 3G speeds.
    So, an N1 will work just fine on ANY carrier that your chosen version has the appropriate radio frequencies for. If you're inclined to switch carriers, best to do your homework before choosing which version N1 handset to buy.
    your misunderstanding the question." is this true?" pertains to the fact that cdma cant talk and web and the same time
    If I had to name my greatest strength, I guess it would be my humility. Greatest weakness, it's possible that I'm a little too awesome.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum