Auto switch from videotron to partner and back ?

This is a discussion on Auto switch from videotron to partner and back ? within the Vidéotron forums, part of the Android Phone Carriers category; Is there a way to have it to switch from Videotron network when it lose it to Partner (rogers) network, and back to Videotron when ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Auto switch from videotron to partner and back ?

  1. #1
    Junior Member Mobidoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    11

    Auto switch from videotron to partner and back ?

    Is there a way to have it to switch from Videotron network when it lose it to Partner (rogers) network, and back to Videotron when It is available ?

    I dont have Videotron network where I live but everyday, when heading to work, I get it.

    I always have to thing to manualy switch it to Videotron but worst, is not to forget to set it on partner when Videotron is out of reach... Yeah can be nice not having the wife able to text or call me but still ...

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Android Lurker iPeck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Laval, Qc
    Posts
    3
    Mine does it by itself seamlessly... When I got out of the videotron coverage, I'm automatically connected to Rogers. It goes back to videotron, on its own, when i reach the network back.

    (must be a simple option you have to tick, not sure wich though)

  4. #3
    Android Lurker iPeck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Laval, Qc
    Posts
    3
    A quick question, how did you manage to have a videotron cell without coverage at home ? My friend tried to get one but they said no cuz the network is not avail were he lives...

  5. #4
    Junior Member Mobidoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    11
    Weird that mine doesn't switch then....

    As for your friend, I got my brother who live in an area with coverage to add me to his account. I have to pay to my brother monthly but as soon as coverage is in my area, I can switch the phone to my account.

  6. #5
    Android Lurker iPeck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Laval, Qc
    Posts
    3
    Clever... i could do that for him. Thanks dude

    __________________

    Sent from my Nexus One via Tapatalk

  7. #6
    Junior Member Mobidoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    11
    It is legal too, when you call customer service, they give you that option

  8. #7
    Junior Member Frostback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    17
    When I left the island I had to choose Rogers as an alternative carrier, but since then it switches back and forth seemlessly.

    Pleasant surprise! I checked my internet usage and 'roaming data', at least within Quebec, was covered by my normal dataplan.

    In otherwords I could use Roger's 3G data off-island (of Montreal) without being charged extra.

  9. #8
    Android Lurker iPeck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Laval, Qc
    Posts
    3
    Nice! Didnt know that. I was afraid to use it while on rogers roaming.

    Thanks for the tip !

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Junior Member natesilver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    9
    Its funny, I asked Videotron Customer Service the same question when I got my phone and they told me "it doesn't matter, your phone can't use data from the Partner network anyway." They said either Videotron 3G or nothing at all. We all know that isn't true!

  11. #10
    Android Lurker iPeck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Laval, Qc
    Posts
    3
    Looks like they want to limit roaming usage...

    *Posted from my sweet rooted Nexus One via hitn'yak

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

prtnr videotron
,
videotron data roaming rogers
,
videotron network partner
,
videotron partner network
,
videotron partnr1
,

videotron prtnr

,
videotron ptrnr
,
videotron roaming rogers
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum