Nexus S locked to T-Mobile??

This is a discussion on Nexus S locked to T-Mobile?? within the Vidéotron forums, part of the Android Phone Carriers category; I'm currently with Rogers and I bought a Nexus S so i decided to switch to Videotron. The seller gave me a Videotron sim card ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Nexus S locked to T-Mobile??

  1. #1
    Junior Member lucuboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Nexus S locked to T-Mobile??

    I'm currently with Rogers and I bought a Nexus S so i decided to switch to Videotron. The seller gave me a Videotron sim card to try it first and surprisingly my phone never received 3G network. Even if the Videotron sim card was inside my phone, it could only connect to partner network which is a 2G / EDGE slowest thing in the world.

    I'm totally freaking out because I don't want to ship it back to the US.

    Could someone help me with that ??!?!? :S

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Junior Member steveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    I have a Nexus S and it works on Videotron. Don't bother with their suupport as they are not going to help you get this going.
    You have to set up the 2 APNs (see below)!

    apn carrier=Videotron
    mcc=302
    mnc=500
    apn=media.videotron
    proxy=10.208.89.17
    port=8080
    server=http://m.videotron.com/portail
    type=default,supl

    apn carrier=Videotron MMS
    mcc=302
    mnc=500
    apn=media.videotron
    mmsproxy=10.208.89.17
    mmsport=8080
    mmsc=http://m.videotron.com
    type=mms

    Also, the Videotron e-mail doesn't work so you'll have to use POP until they fix their client which they say will be ready in a few weeks.

  4. #3
    Junior Member lucuboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4
    thank you so much,I'll try that tomorrow for sure!!

  5. #4
    Junior Member caddish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5
    Is it legal, can I go there and tell them I manually entered the APN setting. Because the dealer already had the info from videotron that nexus S would not work until they sell it

  6. #5
    Android Lurker iPeck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Laval, Qc
    Posts
    3
    No prob with the apn dude

    Posted from my sweet Nexus One on GB via Hit'n'Yak

  7. #6
    Junior Member poueray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    19
    do you really need 2 apns?? I have added only the first one?

  8. #7
    Junior Member caddish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5
    Funny I went back yesterday (6 april) and she told me come back tomorrow (7 april) and today (7 april) the Nexus S is for sale on Videotron website so I did not have to manually enter the APN and she could give me a SIM card officially for a Nexus S

  9. #8
    Junior Member Bagbug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    7
    Hello,

    did you managed to set the weather app/widget to Celsius ?

    tx

  10. #9
    Member gravufo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    60
    Quote Originally Posted by caddish View Post
    Funny I went back yesterday (6 april) and she told me come back tomorrow (7 april) and today (7 april) the Nexus S is for sale on Videotron website so I did not have to manually enter the APN and she could give me a SIM card officially for a Nexus S
    There are no "official" Nexus S SIM cards...

    The APNs are to get 3G and to send MMS through 3G.

    Here is an (only ONE) APN that combines both so that you don't get disconnected from 3G when you receive/send an MMS:


    Name: Videotron
    APN: media.videotron
    Proxy: not set
    Port: not set
    Username: not set
    Password: not set
    Server: not set
    MMSC: media.videotron.com
    MMS Proxy: 10.208.89.17
    MMS Port: 8080
    MCC: 302
    MNC: 500
    Authentication type: not set
    Type: default,supl,mms

    Tested by me and others and it works.

    Keep in mind that NO Google phones are/ever will be locked to a single carrier since their vision is openness. I'm actually amazed that they let go of their online sales and went directly with carriers...but oh well

  11. #10
    Senior Member davidalow44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    125
    Nexus phones are not "locked" to a carrier, however they might not have the necessary radio to use a given carrier's 3G frequencies. In the USA, there is a Nexus for T-Mobile 3G and a different hardware version for AT&T 3G. I don't know the situation in Canada.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum