Traveling to USA

This is a discussion on Traveling to USA within the Vidéotron forums, part of the Android Phone Carriers category; It has nothing to do with APNs The problem is physical. The Videotron Nexus One is the T-Mobile version aka the AWS version which only ...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Traveling to USA

  1. #11
    Member gravufo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    60
    It has nothing to do with APNs

    The problem is physical. The Videotron Nexus One is the T-Mobile version aka the AWS version which only gets full 3G on the 1700Mhz frequency.

    Rogers/Bell/Telus use traditional GSM frequencies. Since the 3G frequencies are different, the phone should technically not work with these carriers. But, these carriers still have an (older) 2G infrastructure that lets you connect. Our N1 is compatible with almost everything in 2G, but for 3G, you need AWS carriers such as T-Mobile, Videotron, Mobilicity, Wind Mobile.

    Edge is the way to access the Internet under 2G which is why you are able to access it.

    IF you really want full 3G access on other carriers, you need to get the other Nexus One version (the AT&T one).

    Hope that explains...I know that wasn't too clear, just a bit braindead here xD

  2. #12
    Android Lurker iPeck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Laval, Qc
    Posts
    3
    Very clear indeed and makes sense

    cheers to that

  3. #13
    Junior Member Frostback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    17
    Hey, if I go travelling in the US for a week or so, is it possible to get a short-term T-mobile SIM card?

    I really hate having to come back to a hefty mobile bill.

    Thanks!

  4. #14
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    T-mo does month to month, but I'm not sure about just one week...

  5. #15
    Member gravufo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    60
    You should probably call them, easiest solution...they probably have some toll free number...else use your GVoice to call them for free from your computer!

  6. #16
    Android Lurker DudeRandom21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    0
    Or I'm not sure if they have that on t-mo but you could get a prepaid plan with a sim and just have the amount of minutes you think you'll use ready if you need them and if you don't have enough then just add more.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum